The Diary of a Disgruntled Pedestrian

Dear Diary

October 25, 2010

Dear Diary,

Now that I live downtown, I spend a lot of time on the sidewalks, walking through intersections and using crosswalks. Today I have to admit to you that from all this exposure I have become a disgruntled pedestrian.

We all know the rules of the road as drivers; red means stop and green means go. What people seem to be clueless about are the rules of the sidewalk. Unfortunately, there is no handbook or exam to take for a licence to walk the streets. There is however an unwritten set of rules; a mutual understanding. I want to make it my mission to write these rules and share them with the world.

Rule #1
Walk on the right side. When using the sidewalk, the left side of your body should be in the centre of the sidewalk; just as we drive on the right side of the road.

Rule #2
Pedestrians with strollers or young children earn the right of way. This is assuming you have already broken #1. Don’t make someone with child walk nearest to the road.

Rule #3
As a driver, do not pull out over the sidewalk. Stay behind the sidewalk line until you have a clear opening to proceed. Should you find yourself on the sidewalk and a pedestrian comes along, back that thing up!

Rule #4
Again, as a driver, do not pull out into any intersection until it is clear to go. Blocking the road between two sections of sidewalk causes the pedestrian to walk into the line of traffic. The same goes for major intersections. Those two white lines indicate where feet should be, not tires.

So you see diary, whether you are the driver or the pedestrian it is of utmost importance that these rules are followed. In return, I promise never to jaywalk or to start crossing the road after the hand signal has started to flash. If someone fails to adhere to this list, they may just run into a disgruntled pedestrian like me.

Happy strolling!

Photo courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net. Photographed by nuttakit.

6 responses to “The Diary of a Disgruntled Pedestrian

  1. haha This is a good one! I have become a “biker” this summer downtown and I have a bone to pick with pedestrians! lol I agree with all your rules here, and I like the end about jaywalking. As a biker, I should be able to drive along the road when the light is green and not worry about pedestrians jumping out in front of me! This happened a few weeks ago and people on the street were yelling at ME for bumping into a pedestrian who literally jumped off the curb right in front of my bike!! The light was fully green for me too! If we all adhere to the “rules” of the road/sidewalks, we can all be happy 🙂

  2. Ya, I’m telling you its the pedestrians. They really have no clue that they too have a responsibility on our streets. Its too bad that those ‘observers’ don’t have a clue either. I think it’s the whole ‘Pedestrians have the right of way’ that give people the impression that someone on foot can do no wrong.

  3. Good idea. There should definitely be rules as so many, unfortunately, lack commonsense.

  4. Definitely the stroller and mom’s with kids have the right away. Nothing irritates me more than people who are completely oblivious to the fact that my stroller could so run into the backs of your heels and cut you up if you pass me or rudely cut me off…LOL!!! Does that mean I have “sidewalk rage?”

    • I love this: Sidewalk Rage. You should patent this phrase. I definitely have ‘sidewalk rage’ as well and would love to run over a selfish pedestrian’s heels with my tank of a stroller.

      Once a car almost ran into my daughter and I and in shock I pounded the hood of his car. If that’s not rage I don’t know what is.

      PS. That is the second time since I moved downtown that I have almost been hit by a car! Yikes!

Leave a Reply

