Blemished & Blushing

Consider this post to be out of pure vanity and utter shock!  Sorry, I won’t be trying to solve the world’s problems today.  Nor will I be teaching you how to get your child to sleep through the night.  Today I will be focusing on me…and you, if you’re in the same boat.

I consider myself to be relatively young.  After all today’s 50 is the new 40 and today’s 40 is the new 30…and so on.  So at the  age of 33, I am experiencing a problem that I didn’t expect;  a problem that I thought I had successfully sidestepped during my teenage years; a problem that is impossible to hide. 

Right now I’ve got a face that only a mother could love.  A new red spot pops up each day.  One goes away and another stops in for a visit.  And let me assure you, I didn’t invite them over. 

Why is this happening?  Is this common?  And if I must have a teenage face, may I have my teenage body?     

I’m calling out for some woman-to-woman support.  Am I alone?  Are there tips, tricks and remedies you can share?

Signed,
Blemished & Blushing

Photo courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net. Photographed by Ahmet Guler.

22 responses to “Blemished & Blushing

  1. Kelly – I have been plagued with horrible skin for as long as I can remember…
    I thought as I got older it would go away and it hasn’t. If you find some sort of miracle let me know!

  2. I have relatively okay skin, what do I do? Frankly, not much. I use as little products as possible on my face. A lot of moisturizers but get oil-free if you have an oily complexion.

    Also, I use natural and organic products, I make my own masks. I wrote about one on my blog. http://bit.ly/bt7WHj It’s an oatmeal mask.

    Also, I do this regularly. I use lemon & sugar and use it as an exfoliate. Organic. I should write one up for this one. Once a week or every other week.

    Also, use mineral make-up if you have problem skin!

    I wrote you a book! LOL! Have a great weekend m’dere!

  3. Oh gosh! ALSO is my word of the day apparently! Terrible! I just read that back! Hahaha!

  4. I’m more of a modern medicine kinda girl. Go get yourself some birth control. Yasmin works best. That’s it. Helps if you get cramps too.

  5. I’m nervous about the pill though…it has other side effects for me that I think I’d dislike more than the zits! 😦 I will consider it though!

  6. Ugh, I have this problem too and have tried everything with no avail 😦 I think I need a miracle. I hope you have better luck!

  7. Oh. MAH. LAWD….me too. Ugh, I fracken hate it. My skin was absolutely radiant especially when I was pregnant. Oh, my skin glowed, oil free…smooth like buttah…but after I delivered my son…EEEKSSS. What happened?
    I broke out all over and took weeks to get under control. Even now 2 years later, I still get breakouts around when Aunt Flow visits.
    I started using Acne Free. You can get it at Shoppers and Rexall and I think WalMart carries it. It’s like the knock off of Proactiv but half the cost. Bonus if you live near the US border because it is like 10 to 15 bucks cheaper!
    I think over here in Canada, it’s around 27 bucks but it does last a long time. You get a cleanser, astringent thing that’s also a moisterizer, and a zit zapper lotion. I love it. It doesn’t dry out my face either.
    Hope this helps some!

  8. I am not sure about the cheaper version that was just spoken about, but proactive has worked for me. Grew up without having blemishes until about a year ago. I tolerated it for a while, but then I got proactive and a fresh face.

  9. Kel, I suffer too and for some reason every once in awhile is seems worse then ususally. I usually have a least one. Proactiv works if I use it but frankly I am a little afraid of the ingredient list. I think I am going to try the suggestions npc23 said!

    • Hey Linz,

      Thanks for the comments. I have never seen the ingredients of Proactiv so I will be sure to do that. I tend to lean towards the more natural things as well. Everyone has to come back and let me know of their progress!

  10. O.K. ladies… I have the product you are looking for – I had the exact same problem and I am now 35 with three kids. My name is Shana Recker and I am an Executive District Manager with a company called Arbonne. We manufacture premium Swiss skin care and it has changed my life and my skin!!! There products and how they work are the reason I got into this business. I use Arbonne’s RE9 anti-aging line and not only has it cleared my face completely of annoying blemishes… it is also erasing my wrinkles!!! Double whammy!!! 🙂 Our products are pure, only the best and purest ingredients from Switzerland. Safe, no harmful chemical, mineral oil or animal by-products and beneficial – they are good for you and your skin!! Our products are also gluten free. I personally would not recommend Proactive at all. It bleaches your clothing!!! If a product bleaches your clothing why would you put that on your skin? Your skin is your largest organ – you need to be very careful what you put on it. Arbonne also offers a Clear Advantage acne line that uses natural botanicals combined with Salicylic Acid to get rid of blemishes so they don’t come back.

    If you are interested in learning more about Arbonne and their products drop me an email at shanarecker@myarbonne.ca You can also check out my personal website at http://www.shanarecker.myarbonne.ca

    Thanks for your time ladies!

  11. Also wanted to say I Live in dowtown London as well andwould be happy to bring by samples 🙂

  12. Some feedback on the Arbonne product – I tried the sample and my face when haywire. Like NUTS with pimples. The eye serum does work to take away that tired eye look. But it is very expensive!

  13. To comment on the previous post, I’m sorry you had a bad reaction to the product. I will mention though anytime you switch product lines your face may have a slight breakout as your skin is adjusting to the new product and purging itself of residual bacteria. Personally I also got a small pimple on my face when I switched to the RE9 line, but it healed MUCH quicker and didn’t get as large as they did previously.

  14. I always had good skin, heck, strangers used to tell my how beautiful my skin was. So you can imagine how troubling it was for me when I started breaking out in my late twenties. I struggled with OTC products for years, including ProActiv which did not work at all for me, and finally gave up and went to a dermatologist. I now use a prescription cream and I am really happy with the results. I’m not saying it’s the answer for everyone but I kick myself for wasting so much time and money before talking to a doctor. Good luck in your quest!

Leave a Reply

