Twitter – Not Just a Social Networking Service

Monday was the day that I realized Twitter was not just a tool I use for networking, idol chat and promoting City Mom.  Because on this day,  I used Twitter to ask for support, and support I received.

My husband underwent shoulder surgery on Monday and being the worrier that I am, I started to feel anxious as soon as they wheeled him away.  I got my iPhone out to pass some time and found myself reaching out on Twitter.

My first outgoing update was very simple and to the point:  Trying to pass time while my husband is in surgery…talk to me.  I followed up with:  Maybe I should mention I’m feeling a bit nervous and would like some distractions.   (Messages can be no more than 140 characters)

Within seconds I was receiving my first response.  In total, I began comforting ‘conversations’ with eight of my ‘tweeple’ (a blend of Twitter and people).  I read reassuring comments such as “Don’t be too nervous. He’s in the best hands possible!”, “I’m sure your husband will be fine – but I don’t blame you for worrying – I would do the same!” and one friend even sent me a link to a humorous video to help me pass the time.

There was something these short messages offered that day that nothing else could have.  I wasn’t in the mood to talk on the phone and I certainly wasn’t feeling social enough to strike up a conversation with any of the strangers sitting nearby. 

These interactions provided a light diversion to help me through my nervousness but didn’t require too much of my energy, leaving me feeling drained, which is easy to have happen when you’re stressed.  It was just what the doctor ordered.  No pun intended!

Although I’ve never met most of my Twitter friends face-to-face and some of them live in an entirely different country, it doesn’t seem to matter.  A few characters on-screen and some kind people made me realize that Twitter is not just a social networking tool.  It is a friend-maker, a relationship-builder and a support network.

A special thanks to my tweeps who were there for me the other day.  If you’re not following them already, please do so:  @kimforgeta, @Tinytoot, @slypigjeff, @j0_mAmA@gracekellycakes, @saucygurl915, @SweetSheil and  @CaseKidsLikeIke.    And if you don’t have a Twitter account, start one up today!

Photo courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net. Photograph by jscreationzs.

20 responses to “Twitter – Not Just a Social Networking Service

  1. Aww…I think you helped me more on that day than I helped you 🙂

  2. Oh I hope that your husband is doing well. It’s amazing this twitter world. I used to think of it as being evil like facebook but I have received so much support on top of the hilarious entertainment it brings with it.
    I have postpartum depression and there is a chat hosted on there every Monday. I gain so much support and advice and encouragement. Oh an it’s nice to know that I am not drinking alone. There’s a whole #wineparty of drunks just like me…kidding, I’m not a drunk.

    • OMG…I love #wineparty! It’s mind-boggling that these things are taking place all in a virtual world. I signed up for my Twitter account 3 months before I actually started using it. At first I was thinking what’s the point? I have drastically changed my mind.

      You going to #wineparty this week?

  3. That’s fantastic! Glad you found the help/comfort you needed when you needed it! That’s so important.

  4. Yeah. i agree with you. Twitter is not only a social network. It is a start of friendship and to get your new friend in the world. like me…:-) @rizaalmanfalut

  5. Glad to hear you had some support! I just started using Twitter on a regular basis a few months ago. I have “met” some great people like you! The more I am on Twitter the more I find it is a really great way to connect with people. 🙂

    • Thanks for coming by Kat! I agree. I feel like I’ve met so many people in general but my support network of other Mom’s has increased by like 1000%. That is always a wonderful thing!

  6. That’s terrific! I so need to get on the Twitter bandwagon. I just find it so intimidating and never know what to say or if I’m sounding “inexperienced” saying it…
    I’m glad you got the support you needed, though. That says so much about the world we live in. Not everybody is cold and heartless, clearly!

    • Hey Sandra,
      I know exactly what you mean. I find myself to still be a little ‘Twitter-shy’. I can be outgoing in real life but that’s once I get to know someone better. I’m fine with responding to other people’s messages but it’s hard to know what to say on your own.

      If there’s one thing I can tell you about it, I will say it does get much easier and much more enjoyable!

      Thanks for stopping by.

  7. Twitter is GREAT for support. I have used it to ask questions and when I needed support, and it is fantastic. Someone said that Facebook is for friends that are now strangers, and Twitter is for strangers that should be friends.

    • Oh my gosh…I love that saying! It is so true! On Twitter it seems you can meet people who share more interests and lifestyles like your own. It really is great!

  8. I totally agree! I have met some very good friends on Twitter. Some I have even met with in real life! It is a fabulous thing.

  9. I love Twitter for just this reason. It’s amazing the connections we can have with people in under 140 characters.

  10. So glad to have met you via twitter #wineparty!

Leave a Reply

